BIND Therapeutics
BIND Therapeutics: A new way of targeting disease
Board of Directors
Daniel Lynch has served as the Chairman of our board of directors since October 2012. He spent nearly five years at ImClone Systems, a biotechnology company, serving as chief executive officer from April 2003 to November 2005 and chief financial officer from April 2001 to March 2003. Earlier in his career, he served in various financial positions at Bristol-Myers Squibb over a 15-year tenure. Mr. Lynch currently serves on the board of directors of bluebird bio, Inc., a biotechnology company. He previously served on the board of directors and the audit committee of U.S. Oncology, Inc. from 2006 until December 2010. Mr. Lynch received his B.A. in Mathematics from Wesleyan University and his M.B.A. from the Darden Graduate School of Business Administration at the University of Virginia.
Andrew Hirsh is the president and chief executive officer of BIND Therapeutics. Prior to joining BIND in July 2012, he was vice president of Finance and chief financial officer at Avila Therapeutics, Inc., a biotechnology company, until its acquisition by Celgene Corporation in March 2012. From 2002 to 2011, Mr. Hirsch served in roles of increasing responsibility during his nearly 10-year tenure at Biogen, a biotechnology company, most recently from 2010 to 2011 as vice president, Corporate Strategy and M&A. From 2007 to 2010, Mr. Hirsch held various positions in the finance organization including leading the company’s Business Planning and Investor Relations functions. In addition, he served as Program executive in neurology, leading the development teams for the BG-12 (now marketed as Tecfidera), Avonex and Tysabri programs. He received his M.B.A. from the Tuck School at Dartmouth College and a B.A. in Economics from the University of Pennsylvania.
Peter Barton Hutt has served as a member of our board of directors since 2008. Mr. Hutt is a senior counsel in the Washington, D.C. law firm of Covington & Burling specializing in food and drug law. Mr. Hutt began his law practice with the firm in 1960 and except for his four years in the government, has continued at the firm ever since. Mr. Hutt served as chief Counsel for the FDA during 1971 to 1975. Mr. Hutt serves on the board of directors of Momenta Pharmaceuticals, Xoma Corp. and DBV Technologies. From 2008 to 2011, he served on the board of directors of Celera Corp and from 2003 to 2008 served on the board of MMRGlobal, Inc., formerly Favrille, Inc.
Robert Langer, Sc.D. is one of our co-founders and has served as a member of our board of directors since 2006. Dr. Langer has been an Institute Professor at MIT since 2005, and prior to that was an Assistant Professor at MIT since 1978. Dr. Langer has received the National Medal of Science, Charles Stark Draper Prize, Albany Medical Center Prize and the Lemelson-MIT prize. Dr. Langer is one of the very few individuals ever elected to the Institute of Medicine, the National Academy of Engineering, and the National Academy of Sciences. Dr. Langer received his B.S. from Cornell University and his Sc.D. from MIT, both in Chemical Engineering. He currently serves on the board of directors of Advanced Cell Technology and previously served as a director of Momenta Pharmaceuticals from 2001 to 2009, Wyeth from 2004 to 2009, Fibrocell Science, Inc. from 2010 to 2012 and Millipore Corp from 2009 to 2010.

Eric K. Rowinsky, M.D., is the former head of research and development and chief medical officer of Stemline Therapeutics, Inc. and has served on the board of Biogen since 2010. Dr. Rowinsky is also an adjunct professor of medicine at New York University and has been an independent consultant since January 2010. Prior to that, he was the chief medical officer of Primrose Therapeutics, Inc. from August 2010 until its acquisition in September 2011. From 2005 to December 2009, he served as the chief medical officer and executive vice president of ImClone Systems Incorporated. From 1996 to 2004, Dr. Rowinsky held several positions at the Cancer Therapy & Research Center’s Institute for Drug Development, including director of the Institute and director of clinical research. From 1988 to 1996, Dr. Rowinsky was an associate professor of oncology at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and on the staff of the Johns Hopkins Hospital. Dr. Rowinsky is also a member of the boards of directors of Coronado Biosciences, Inc. and Navidea Biopharmaceuticals, Inc. Dr. Rowinsky earned his medical degree from Vanderbilt University School of Medicine and a fellowship in medical oncology from the Johns Hopkins University.

Mr. Rowland is the chief executive officer at Aurinia Pharmaceuticals and has more than 30 years of experience in financial management and strategic business operations. He served as the vice president and chief financial officer of ViroPharma Incorporated, an international biopharmaceutical company, until it was acquired by Shire plc in January 2014. He also served as senior vice president of finance, with responsibilities for leading the treasury, tax, investor relations and business planning groups. Prior to joining ViroPharma in 2008, Mr. Rowland was the executive vice president and chief financial officer, as well as the interim co-chief executive officer, for Endo Pharmaceuticals Inc., a specialty pharmaceutical company with a primary focus in pain management, where he served from 2006 to 2008. At Endo, Mr. Rowland drove the strategic planning process, including the design and implementation of the company’s mid and long-term strategy. From 2004 to 2006, Mr. Rowland was the senior vice president and chief financial officer of Biovail Corporation, an international pharmaceutical company, where he directed all financial activities for the company including tax, treasury, accounting, financial analysis, investor relations as well as all aspects of information technology. Mr. Rowland previously held positions of increasing responsibility at Breakaway Technologies, Inc., Pharmacia Corporation, Novartis AG and Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.

Dr. Tzianabos formerly served as president and chief scientific officer of OvaScience, Inc. Dr. Tzianabos has more than 20 years of experience in drug discovery and development, strategic planning, portfolio management, business development and alliance management. He joined OvaScience from Shire plc, where he served as senior vice president and head, Research and Nonclinical Early Development. Prior to Shire, Dr. Tzianabos was an associate professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School and maintained laboratories at the Channing Laboratory, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics at Harvard Medical School. During his time at Harvard, Dr. Tzianabos served as a consultant to several biotechnology and pharmaceutical companies, including Genzyme Corporation and Eli Lilly. Dr. Tzianabos has published more than 80 scientific papers, reviews, book chapters, and patents. Dr. Tzianabos holds a B.S. in Biology from Boston College and a Ph.D. in Microbiology from the University of New Hampshire.